Patty Maes’ TED

Standard

 Regarding Patty Maes’ TED talk on technology and a “Sixth Sense”, as well as the “Connecting” documentary film, what IMPLICATIONS do you foresee for such knowledge/ perception enhancers?

After watching what designers are trying to do with technology and making it interactive, I am excited but skeptical. I consider myself a traditionalist in the sense that I love writing on paper and doing things manually but I do enjoy the new technology that connects us. I probably wouldn’t purchase the product by Patty Maes’ Sixth Sense only because I think there is  time when knowing too much is dangerous especially when it comes to reading people by their ‘labels’. I do like the thought of all of us being connected but once everyday tasks become virtual and out of laziness easier, I think that we will lose our humanity and compassion. 

Leave a Reply

